Joining the Open Source Community: My GSSoC 23 Story and Connections

Joining the Open Source Community: My GSSoC 23 Story and Connections

Open source contributions have always been an excellent way to enhance skills, collaborate with like-minded individuals, and positively impact the developer community. In my quest to explore the world of open source, I recently participated in GSSoC 23 (Global Summer of Code 2023), a platform that connects aspiring developers with meaningful projects. In this blog, I will share my exciting journey with GSSoC 23, from joining the program to making contributions and building new connections along the way.

Joining GSSoC 23 and Engaging with the Community:

My journey began with my selection for GSSoC 23. Overwhelmed with excitement, I took to social media and shared the news on LinkedIn. This helped me connect with fellow participants, mentors, and industry professionals who were also a part of the program. Additionally, I joined the Discord server of GSSoC, where I shared my social media handles, enabling me to establish connections with other contributors.

Exploring Resources and Learning Opportunities:

To kickstart my GSSoC 23 experience, I turned to various resources to enhance my knowledge and skills. One of the valuable resources was a GitHub video by Kunal Kushwaha, highly recommended by fellow contributors. The video provided insights into Git best practices and version control, empowering me to contribute effectively to open-source projects.

Furthermore, I explored GSSoC updates and discussions on Twitter Spaces, where I had the opportunity to listen to experienced developers sharing their insights and experiences. Additionally, I thoroughly examined past projects on the GSSoC website to better understand the program's objectives and the kind of projects I could contribute to.

Making Contributions and Overcoming Challenges:

Once the 2023 projects were made available on the GSSoC website, I carefully selected projects aligned with my skills and interests. I created two issues, and fortunately, one of them was assigned to me. I felt excited and a little nervous, which motivated me to work on the task I was given.

While working on the project, I faced some obstacles, which is normal for any project. When I faced difficulties in hosting the project on a local server, I asked for help from the GSSoC Discord group. A kind contributor offered guidance, helping me resolve the issue and move forward.

Another challenge emerged while making a Pull Request (PR) when I struggled to install a necessary library. Even with the problem, I continued making the PR., hoping for the best. Thankfully, the project maintainers recognized my effort and merged the PR, I felt very happy and successful when they accepted my work.

Looking Ahead and Contributing Further:

In the remaining time of the GSSoC 23 program, my excitement for helping with open-source projects keeps increasing. This experience has made me believe more in teamwork, sharing knowledge, and the power of open-source groups. I can't wait to work on more projects and improve my abilities in the developer community.

Conclusion:

Being part of GSSoC 23 has been amazing, full of learning, meeting people, and growing personally. Sharing my excitement on social media and talking with others on Discord and Twitter has made my experience as an open-source contributor even better. Facing challenges has taught me to be strong and ask for help. As I keep going in GSSoC 23, I'm excited to contribute more, learn new things, and make long-lasting friendships in the open-source world.